shape
carat
color
clarity

Is this a good price and a good diamond?

JohnGalt

Rough_Rock
Hi folks

I am a total newbie when it comes to buying diamonds. I bought my wife the following necklace at 10% Memorial day discount at Zales today:

http://www.zales.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3423831&kpc=1

According to the report, it has following attributes:

Brilliance: excellent, Dispersion: between very good and excellent, Scintillation: excellent
Cut style: 102 facets, Weight: 0.49ct, Clarity: SI-2, Color: I

The diamond looks good and sparkly. Is this a good diamond and did I pay a good price?

JG

yssie

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
It''s certainly a different look from a regular RB.

It''s a branded diamond, so "regular" pricing does not apply - were you looking at a 58facet RB then you''d have overpaid, but the only standard of comparison in this case is other diamonds of that brand.

If you like it and it''s sparkly don''t worry about it, just enjoy it!

Dancing Fire

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Date: 6/1/2010 12:23:35 AM
Author:JohnGalt
Hi folks

I am a total newbie when it comes to buying diamonds. I bought my wife the following necklace at 10% Memorial day discount at Zales today:

Brilliance: excellent, Dispersion: between very good and excellent, Scintillation: excellent

The diamond looks good and sparkly. Is this a good diamond and did I pay a good price?

JG
WOW!!
6.gif
$1800 for a .49ct non GIA stone?? check with Jon at GOG.
2.gif

m_kluch

Rough_Rock
1800 not for the stone. 1800 for the whole thing

JohnGalt

Rough_Rock
Call me naive, but what is RB?

Date: 6/1/2010 12:34:19 AM
Author: yssie
It''s certainly a different look from a regular RB.

It''s a branded diamond, so ''regular'' pricing does not apply - were you looking at a 58facet RB then you''d have overpaid, but the only standard of comparison in this case is other diamonds of that brand.

If you like it and it''s sparkly don''t worry about it, just enjoy it!

JohnGalt

Rough_Rock