shape
carat
color
clarity

Is this a genuine Ruby?

Skyelyte

Rough_Rock
Hi, I have an antique ring possibly from the 1800s and I am wondering if someone might be able to help me identify the stone in the ring. I believe it is approximately a 20 carat stone but I am just guessing based on the measurement of a diamond. I believe the carat weights between rubies and diamonds might differ though.

The setting has the 14 karat gold engraving on the band. There is no brand name. However, the 14 k engraving appears to have intentionally left off the bottom of the 4, and the bottom of the k. So it appears like 1 delta symbol, then a triangle with an open top. I am not sure if this is a type of signature way to engrave the 14k.

The setting measures 25 x 18 mm. The measurement of the stone is 22 x 15 mm. It is faceted and has no inclusions that I can see with my naked eye, and I have looked under bright sunlight conditions. (I am no expert, in fact I know almost nothing about rubies.) It might be difficult to tell from the photos but the stone is very clear and not cloudy at all.

The color of the ring is a deep red in lower light but when it is in brighter light it has slight purple tones. It also sometimes displays deep pink tones. So the stone seems to change colors depending on the light.

I hope the photo is clear enough for review. I don't have a macro lens but if a clear pic is needed please let me know and I can try again to photograph it. I submitted this to Sotheby's but it appears it takes a long time to get a response.

So I would greatly appreciate it if someone might be able to confirm if 1. the ring is antique. 2. What is the approximate carat size if my guess is not correct. 3. Is his a genuine Ruby and if not what is the stone? 4. If it is a genuine Ruby, to me it does appear to be gem quality so I would like to know if it is worth having lab tested. Last, I wonder if anyone might know a rough guestimate of the value.