shape
carat
color
clarity

Is this a fair price for a 3 stone ruby and diamond ring?

Rubies-R-Me

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Hello!
I am interested in this ring on Ebay.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/130678542955?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649
I have three questions about it..
First.. it seems to be a very light colored ruby.. is it possible it's a pink sapphire?
Also.. when Tiffany made ruby jewelry back in the day did they only use rubies from Burma?
Lastly.. in your smart opinions.. is that a good price?
Thanks to the experts in advance.. I totally appreciate it!

diamondseeker2006

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Re: Is this a fair price for a 3 stone ruby and diamond ring

Well, it is not the lightness but the fuchsia color that makes me think pink sapphire over ruby. But I am no expert on rubies! I am a fan of Tiffany rings, but the price is a bit high if it is a sapphire. I don't think I'd bid more than $5000.

Actually, here is one with a ruby. Most of the ruby rings I have seen from them have yellow gold prongs on the ruby.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Tiffany-Co-PLAT-Gem-Ruby-Diamond-3-Stone-Ring-/230712068452?pt=Designer_Jewelry&hash=item35b782c964#ht_666wt_702

Gypsy

Super_Ideal_Rock

diamondseeker2006|1334372839|3170682 said:
Well, it is not the lightness but the fuchsia color that makes me think pink sapphire over ruby. But I am no expert on rubies! I am a fan of Tiffany rings, but the price is a bit high if it is a sapphire. I don't think I'd bid more than $5000.

Actually, here is one with a ruby. Most of the ruby rings I have seen from them have yellow gold prongs on the ruby.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Tiffany-Co-PLAT-Gem-Ruby-Diamond-3-Stone-Ring-/230712068452?pt=Designer_Jewelry&hash=item35b782c964#ht_666wt_702
I like this one.

kenny

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium

"Fair" price depend on what it is.
Without a grading report we don't know what the color stone is, or how good it is.