shape
carat
color
clarity

Is my diamond antique?

katiekat21

Rough_Rock
IMG_3950.JPG IMG_0759.JPG
Just got engaged with a cushion cut stunner. One of my co-workers suggested that it looks like an older type of cut which got me interested. I attached photos of the diagram. The EGL USA report calls it "Cushion Square Modified Brilliant" but I am wondering if it is possibly an old mine cut. Does anyone know perhaps how old the diamond is or the cut type? Thanks in advance!

Last edited:

prinsad

Shiny_Rock
Premium
Ahhh. Its so pretty!!! I'm a diamond novice, so do not take anything I say to heart, but from the pictures it looks like it could be. The facets seem chunky, like older cut diamonds. I want to see more pictures of that beauty though!!!

katiekat21

Rough_Rock
Ahhh. Its so pretty!!! I'm a diamond novice, so do not take anything I say to heart, but from the pictures it looks like it could be. The facets seem chunky, like older cut diamonds. I want to see more pictures of that beauty though!!!

Thank you!!! The setting is pretty unique too.
IMG_3805.JPG IMG_8068.JPG

foxinsox

Ideal_Rock
Premium
It does look like it could be. Can you post any clearer daylight pictures? Where did your fiancé get it from? Would love to see more pictures! Oh and congratulations on your engagement! It’s a lovely ring and lucky you if it’s an antique cut.

katiekat21

Rough_Rock
It does look like it could be. Can you post any clearer daylight pictures? Where did your fiancé get it from? Would love to see more pictures! Oh and congratulations on your engagement! It’s a lovely ring and lucky you if it’s an antique cut.
IMG_3994.JPG IMG_4684.PNG
Thank you! He got it from a local European jeweler. Kinda hard to tell the facets from the photos but here are some more.

OoohShiny

Ideal_Rock
Premium
It's likely to be several million years old, so I would call that antique ;-) :D

Matthews1127

Ideal_Rock
Premium