shape
carat
color
clarity

Internet Pricing

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

sailor322

Rough_Rock
I''m a newbie here - doing all my homework before the purchase. What is the mark-up from one of the reputable internet firms and how much negotiating room is there really? I''m in the market for a very high quality 1.5 to 1.7 carat D,E,F - VVS1 or 2 - H&A cut stone. I will have an independent appraisal done etc. I see the per carat pricing information (at least what''s available to the public). Are there any guidelines to negotiating the best deal?

Thanks......

FOODIE

Rough_Rock
It's an interesting question. I am a happy internet buyer based on information and references to a great company to buy from. I believe internet prices are significantly less than what you'd pay at a B&M store, but because there is tremendous partnership between Pricescope and the online internet stores that they refer customers to, I'm not sure you're going to get an answer like "yeah, the internet companies mark their diamonds up 25%," or any similar claim.

I will be interested in responses, if any. It's likely most agree that it's up to the particular customer to negotiate to the degree he feels comfortable. Likewise, it's up to the company you're buying from to accept or decline an offer you may make.

Get some specs onlike and take that to a local Jeweler and you will at least see how much *more* they mark up the diamonds, at the very least!

Good luck. Lots of great info here!

Mara

Super_Ideal_Rock
There isn't too much room to negotiate with the online pricing, the prices are already much lower than anything of equal quality that you'd find in a B&M. Sometimes vendors will try to assist you with budgetary restrictions, but for the most part they are operating on an already slim margin...it's not like a B&M store.