shape
carat
color
clarity

I am serious about becoming a gemologist, where should I go to school?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Amandas_Jewels

Rough_Rock
I bet your response is almost instantly GIA - that has been mine for a few years.

I would just like to know of some other schools

maybe some more affordable than the GIA

or maybe some with better grading standards than the GIA

Do you know of any gemology schools outside of the GIA?

If so please share. Thanks!
1.gif

Richard M.

Brilliant_Rock
Trade
A few questions first. Why do you want to be a gemologist? What is your goal? Do you want to own a store? Work in one? Become an appraiser? Or??? Do you live in the U.S.?

I believe all those have a bearing on your choice.

Richard M.

Amandas_Jewels

Rough_Rock
I want to be a gemologist because I am passionate about colored gemstones. I have been buying and selling gemstones and jewelry for the last 4 years. I think I am pretty smart when it comes to alot of things, but I also know that i''ve only scratched the surface. I would love to further my knowledge and possibly make a career out of it all. I am young, 19 years old (almost 20!), fresh out of high school, and I beileve now would be a good time to start. I started my own online business selling jewelry at the age of 17, things have been pretty sucessfull. I have my whole career ahead of me and I want it to have something to do with Gemstones. It is my passion. Enough said?
2.gif

Yes I live in the U.S. I currently reside in Seattle, Washington. I don''t want to own a retail store or business untill later in life. I would prefer to work at a laboratory grading gemstones but I am not totally sure what options I have. I could see myself working in a jewelry store, to start my career.

I want to get my G.G. Graduate Gemologist Diploma, along with a degree in Small Business Mangement.

Any suggestions would be wonderful!
25.gif