shape
carat
color
clarity
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how much $$ does a sarin, ogi, helium machine cost? (as of 2009)

Discussion in 'RockyTalky' started by haagen_dazs, Sep 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. haagen_dazs
    Brilliant_Rock

    Messages:
    781
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    by haagen_dazs » Sep 22, 2009
    how much $$ does a sarin, ogi, helium machine cost? (as of 2009)


    The Sarin produces grading reports for different manufacturers.
    If the diamond has a GIA grading report, would it be courteous or rude to ask a vendor (who has a Sarin) to run grading reports on a diamond using AGS and GIA standards?
    Just for comparions sake since AGS0 =/= GIA Excellent (not always).

    Thanks
     
  2. JogiaDiamonds
    Rough_Rock
    Trade

    Messages:
    50
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    by JogiaDiamonds » Sep 22, 2009
    The basic Sarin and OGI machines cost about US$5000. However, I believe software is extra - at least when we bought our OGI machine the "Firetrace" software was extra.

    The Helium scanner from memory is significantly more expensive - between EUR10-15k from memory.

    The AGS software is also extra - $1200, but it seems you no longer have to pay a yearly licence fee which was $500.

    In my opinion, the ASET camera, which is only $1000 or so is much better for analysing cut than all these expensive machines.
     
  3. haagen_dazs
    Brilliant_Rock

    Messages:
    781
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    by haagen_dazs » Sep 23, 2009
    how long does it take to run a Sarin report on a diamond?
     
  4. strmrdr
    Super_Ideal_Rock

    Messages:
    23,295
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    by strmrdr » Sep 23, 2009
    30 seconds or so on the high end $20k sarin machine.
    The $5k model is pretty useless.
     
  5. haagen_dazs
    Brilliant_Rock

    Messages:
    781
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    by haagen_dazs » Sep 23, 2009
    oh ?

    is it still able to produce the numbers for the Sarin Report?
    What is the reason for it being less useful than the more expensive machine?
     
  6. strmrdr
    Super_Ideal_Rock

    Messages:
    23,295
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    by strmrdr » Sep 23, 2009
    yes you can get the full report i believe.
    less accurate and slower
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page