carat
color
clarity

How Does One "Name" a Diamond?

Matthews1127

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Good Morning!
I have been scrolling & trolling for several months, now, and I've noticed that a lot of PSers have named their diamonds & gemstones. I think it's rather clever, and makes distinguishing one ring from another (esp in photos) easier.
Where do those names come from? Do jewelers already name them? Are they original, given by the owner? How do you choose? It's like naming a child...so many to choose from, so many interesting meanings behind a name. Where do you start?
I'm interested in hearing from those who have named their stones. I'm certain some stories will prove to be very interesting & some, even funny.
I'd actually even like to try to name my own (for photo posting purposes, and a little fun), I just don't even know where to begin!
Input, suggestions, and experience welcome!! :mrgreen:
...CRM

tyty333

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
They usually come from the owner. I only have a name for one of my stones and its "Aloha" because at an SI1 with a loupe you can
see a small chain of inclusions that look like the Hawaiian islands.

I really should think of names for my other 2 stones. I like names... I would be happy to throw out a few names for your stone. An up close pic
would be really helpful. Interesting to know what other people think of when they see your stone.

You could also do a poll if you have it narrowed down to a few names...

Matthews1127

Ideal_Rock
Premium
They usually come from the owner. I only have a name for one of my stones and its "Aloha" because at an SI1 with a loupe you can
see a small chain of inclusions that look like the Hawaiian islands.

I really should think of names for my other 2 stones. I like names... I would be happy to throw out a few names for your stone. An up close pic
would be really helpful. Interesting to know what other people think of when they see your stone.