shape
carat
color
clarity

How do I get this setting?

Discussion in 'RockyTalky' started by Marriedbuteloped, Aug 13, 2019.

1. Marriedbuteloped
    Rough_Rock

by Marriedbuteloped » Aug 13, 2019
    Hi PS experts!

Long story short but I would like to change my ring setting. I am new in the world of diamonds and would like to ask how to go about that. Although I picked the current setting of my ring I am not happy with it and hardly wear it.

After looking at many sites including my jeweler's, James Allen, BE etc. I settled on this one....

Screen Shot 2019-08-13 at 07.19.07.png

It has to be exactly this setting or very close.

My questions: Should I go with the jeweler of this site, Shiree Odiz? Is she known, reputable? Has anyone used the company? If not, how can I find this setting? I don't mind shipping my current ring and have them do it in their shop. My budget is flexible but I would like to get it in 18K WG. What do I do with the old setting? It is from Art Carved and was also pricey.

This is my current ring:

IMG_1062.jpg

Full disclosure. My stone is a MMD from DeBeers Lightbox collection. It is a 1ct princess cut. My ring size is 5.5.

I appreciate any help with this. You are all so knowledgable and I am looking forward to hear your responses.

Angela

D&T likes this.

2. mrs-b
    Ideal_Rock

by mrs-b » Aug 13, 2019
    Hmmm. Have you found out the width of the band on this, and the size of the diamond in the picture? This is the sort of setting that can go horribly wrong, as what the eye is so attracted to in a setting like this is the proportions. There are no frills or decorations, so the proportions have to be exactly right, or it's going to look like a different ring.

Also, you need the setter to be able to reproduce those very slender right-angle prongs. When a princess cut diamond is set with those prongs, if they're any wider than 'very slim' it radically changes the look of the ring / diamond.