shape
carat
color
clarity

How Did You Choose Your Graduate School?

monarch64

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Curious.

Did you attend a traditional school aka physical campus, or an online school?

What were your criteria?

AGBF

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Curious.

Did you attend a traditional school aka physical campus, or an online school?

What were your criteria?

HaHaHa. There was no Internet when I got any of my university degrees!

KristinTech

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
I applied to all Big 10 schools. I wanted to be within driving distance to home and still at a strong program. I chose to stay at my undergrad university since I was assured tuition waiver and a monthly stipend as a lab assistant with my favorite professor!

I graduated grad school in 1999. We just got online registration two years prior, I think. None of my classes were online, let alone entire degrees!

Reactions: AV_

missy

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I knew what I wanted to do from a pretty young age so that part was easy for me. At that time (1980s) I only had 12 graduate schools in the country to choose from and I wanted to go to the graduate school in Berkeley Ca but my dad said if I wanted them to pay for school I had to go to the one in NYC. As a NYC resident we paid a lot less than what it would be for the California school. Loving NYC too and knowing that the NYC school was #1 at that time as well it was a relatively easy choice. Sure I would have loved to live in California but I made the best decision for me. Got to graduate from the top school without being in debt. That was more than worth it. Thanks to my generous parents.

And it did not suck living in Manhattan for 8 plus years in my late teens and twenties. Not a bad place to live ever but a pretty sweet place to live when one is young and has friends and classmates living nearby. College was a traditional campus but my graduate school had no campus and I lived in a studio apartment right near school as did many of my classmates.