shape
carat
color
clarity

Hi! Would you look at a sapphire with me?

chloeishere

Shiny_Rock
Hi all! I'm new here. I've been lurking on pricescope, reading tons of threads (especially in colored stones! :love: ) for a few weeks now, and I wanted to ask your opinion on a sapphire we recently acquired.

So, before sparkly pictures, the backstory:
My boyfriend and I have been together about 4 and a half years. He's a cop, and I'm a grad student, so we don't have a lot of money. We've (well, especially me) been looking at settings and stones for an engagement ring a while now... because I'm kind of picky and unconventional, and had no idea what I wanted. Also, the big difficulty is that it's a very limited budget, about $500 total. Realistically, he could afford to spend more, but we're early in our lives, I'm honestly not much of a fancy jewelry sort of person, and I'd rather he spend his money elsewhere, and just get something that I like that isn't expensive.

Oh, the other problem (related to the setting, not the stone) is that I have a nickel allergy (can't wear conventional white gold), and yellow or rose gold don't suit my complexion. Platinum is out of the budget, so I've been focusing on palladium rings.

So, before I looked on pricescope, I've been looking at stones all around the web, and finding a lot was out of the budget. I had pretty much settled on either sapphire or spinel (due to the colors available, and the durability of the stones, since I intend to wear my ring constantly, other than heavy duty stuff like gardening and dishes).