shape
carat
color
clarity

Help! Table % of 74, a bad purchase?

Cocopuffs

Rough_Rock
I am new to jewellery and recently fell in a light yellow diamond piece. However I came to realise that this modified square brilliant rock, at 4.08 carat, has a table of 74% and depth of 61.9%, with faint fluorescence. Does this mean this is a poorly cut rock and with poor light performance?

I should have noticed this before placing the deposit. Would appreciate your thoughts on the rock or advice on if I should proceed with the purchase! :( thank you!

ringo865

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Fancy cuts are harder to judge by the numbers than rounds. Do you have magnified images, video or - better yet, idealscope or ASET images?

Cocopuffs

Rough_Rock
Unfortunately I do not have anything more than the GIA report and as the stone has been set, no ASET images whatsoever...:cry2:

TreeScientist

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
Yep, this seems like a Princess cut, which is really difficult to judge based off of numbers alone. Are you sure you don't have the table and depth reversed though? Princess cuts usually have depths in the 70s, so that would be a very shallow Princess cut.

JulieN

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Color is the main thing to think about, and applying light performance standards like table proportion percentage to a colored diamond is completely different than applying it to colorless stones.

flyingpig

Ideal_Rock
Premium
The table is too large and the stone is too shallow for a modified square brilliant. You need to see the stone, but it does not look too promising

Cocopuffs

Rough_Rock
Yep, this seems like a Princess cut, which is really difficult to judge based off of numbers alone. Are you sure you don't have the table and depth reversed though? Princess cuts usually have depths in the 70s, so that would be a very shallow Princess cut.