shape
carat
color
clarity

Help! Should I return my expensive AGS diamond

azuredragon

Rough_Rock
Hi All,

I'm a Hong Kong based novice here asking for advice on a diamond engagement ring I bought off of James Allen. I had spent a considerable time educating myself about diamonds online, and decided to look for a "superideal" cut that I hoped would reflect light well. I had read that AGS triple ideals were held to a higher cut standard than GIA-3Ex so I focused on that. The diamond I bought is below, and cost roughly USD 14k and the halo ring I got with it was an additional USD 1.8k or so. I initially thought I made a decent choice (the HCA score was 1.2 and the diamond cut estimator website suggests it falls well within both the GIA-3Ex and AGS000 boundaries). I wanted a G color because I read that the central diamond color should match those of the smaller diamonds in a halo ring (which in this case was F-G), and I opted for a VS1 clarity largely because I was worried about some VS2's not being eye-clean, and this particular VS1 seemed only a little bit more expensive than comparable VS2's.

Diamond:
https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-di...rat-g-color-vs1-clarity-ideal-cut-sku-5331139

Halo ring:
https://www.jamesallen.com/engageme...-edge-pave-diamond-engagement-ring-item-49997