shape
carat
color
clarity

Help Kenny! Husband bought me heat treated purple sapphire

debi1960

Shiny_Rock
My husband bought me a 1.88 carat Purple sapphire from Natural Sapphire Company. It is a cushion cut set in a pendant with 3 diamonds. It comes with a certificate and it says its been heat treated. I have no knowledge of how to buy colored stones. But I have been reading mixed to bad reviews on this.

Can someone help me? It cost $2,000.00 and I don't want my husband to be ripped off.

The pendant is still on their website as sold.

Their return policy is 5 days for money back and 30 days for a credit. I believe we have passed the 5 days because it was a surprise 50th birthday present for me.

Please help!!

kenny

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Re: Help Kenny! Husband bought me heat treated purple sapph

Debi, I am NOT a sapphire expert, by any means!
I'm sure our helpful posters here will offer you good advice.

Is it returnable if you explain the circumstances?

Best of luck on this.

debi1960

Shiny_Rock

Can anyone give me advice on this purchase??

debi1960

Shiny_Rock

Kenny - Thanks for responding so quickly.

You know what I went thru to get the octavia. I know this purchase is much less, but I still dont want to see my husband getting something that is not worth what he paid.

FrekeChild

Super_Ideal_Rock

Can you post the link? Or a picture? Or something to go off of?

NSC can be good for some things and terrible for others.
Often terribly high prices, terrible cuts with big windows and bad symmetry.
Good for natural/mostly untreated sapphires.

I won't speak on customer service.

kenny

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium

If you are sure you want to return it and time is of the essence and you are beyond the return period perhaps mentioning this thread and that it was a gift will help.

Also, AFAIC heat treatment is not inherently bad, as long as it was not represented as NOT treated, and the price reflected this. (I have no idea if it does.)

Lady_Disdain