shape
carat
color
clarity

Help choosing a design for my chrysoberyl ring

erinl

Brilliant_Rock
I am in the process of designing a setting with David Klass for a 4 carat chrysoberyl: https://www.pricescope.com/community/threads/my-new-4-15-chrysoberyl.177782/

I am completely new to making ring design choices but I know I would like a halo setting for this stone, set in yellow gold. David Klass has come up with two designs, which I am sharing here. The stone is pretty deep for its size, so I am mindful of having a ring that “sticks up” too much. I also want the ring to be comfortable and not moved around too much on my finger. Which of these two designs do you prefer?

Attachments

• 2F4469C5-5DE9-40B8-9052-3BC0224B5F3F.jpeg
    2F4469C5-5DE9-40B8-9052-3BC0224B5F3F.jpeg
    138.6 KB · Views: 64
  • 4AAEE80D-447C-45AC-9FE9-2A92773DE615.png
    4AAEE80D-447C-45AC-9FE9-2A92773DE615.png
    495.7 KB · Views: 64

seaurchin

Ideal_Rock
Wow, great stone!

I prefer the second CAD just because I'd keep the gallery as open as possible to allow as much light in as possible.

I'd also pick the halo or the side stones but not both. To me, it looks a little too busy with both and detracts from that gorgeous center stone. Or, if you want more "presence" on the hand, maybe do a double halo or larger surrounding stones, rather than a single halo with the side stones. JMHO. I just wanted to get my thought in here so you could consider it if you want to but please ignore me otherwise. :)

Last edited:

CBianco

Brilliant_Rock
I personally prefer the first CAD because I love intricate galleries. Either way I'm sure it'll come out great! =)2

Mjay

Brilliant_Rock
You can't go wrong with either one. Personally, I'm a sucker for details, so I'd choose the 1st design.

Rfisher

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Very pretty chrysoberyl :love: