shape
carat
color
clarity

Heirloom Ring Turned Pendant...HELP?!?!

Should I make a pendant by using the unique setting or create a new pendant with the original gold?

• Use the unique setting to create the pendant

Votes: 1 100.0%
  • Make a new pendant with the original gold

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Ash-Lee M

Rough_Rock
Hi, I am completely new to this and have never posted before so if i put this in the wrong category, bear with me please. My grandma, Bonnie, passed away about 9 months ago and we just finished going through her jewelry collection. I kept a heirloom aventurine ring, circa late 1910's to early 1920's. It belonged to my great grandmother and was passed down to my grandma upon her death. Sadly my ring size is a whopping 9 1/2-10 while this beautiful ring is a mere 4 1/2. Because of its intricate setting, which is 14K white gold, the jeweler we went to said it would be extremely difficult if not impossible to size it up that much. But this heirloom piece is really important to me and I would like to be able to wear it somehow. I have been doing some research about turning heirloom rings into pendants or new rings. I think i would prefer a pendant because I already wear my grandmother's wedding band, 14K gold with four small emeralds. I was hoping to keep the setting because its design is beautiful, with small intricate flowers, and perhaps just bend it out, smooth the edges, and add a pendant loop. I am a complete amateur and jewelry is definitely NOT my forte`. Does anybody think this is possible to do? At the very least I would like to use the original gold and gemstone and create an entirely new pendant. I want to keep it purely the original ring components. It is such an antique and historical piece that i feel by using solely the rings own metal, I gain a beautiful sentimental pendant, without changing or compromising the historical, emotional, and family significance. I don't want to add any new metal, because that wouldn't be the same r