shape
carat
color
clarity

Guess the Color...

Jennifee

Shiny_Rock
So I'm in the market for an oval and this one was presented to me. Its certificate is from HRD (which to be honest I have never heard of). I'm a little skeptical about the color grading... Its graded as an H but to me doesn't really seem like it... I'm no expert though! Please let me know on your thoughts on color or anything else you see that sticks out! Thanks!!!

jmallon1.PNG jennifer350   2.jpg jennifer2.jpg jennifer1.jpg

LLJsmom

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Maybe it’s the lighting but that looks more colored than an H, even for an oval. Actually, it maybe your hand that is causing me to see more color. Do you have pics of it upside down on white paper? Btw, I have heard of HRD. I understand that it is respected in Europe.

tkyasx78

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
Ovals show the most color in the “crushed ice look” areas( same for marquise) of the Stone.

It is hard to see what the actual color is without it unset and upside down and next to master set.

AV_

Ideal_Rock
Beautiful Oval!

HRD is an old Antwerp joint
http://hrdantwerp.com/en/hrd-antwerp

I never knew what exactly it is that might obligate labs to keep the same technical definitions of grades, and the assumption seems to be that they, in fact, do not. Perhaps unjust, yet - paying for re-grading seems less of a hassle than second-guessing like this.

2c

Karl_K

Super_Ideal_Rock
Trade
1: its impossible to tell a color grade from a photo so I cant help you there.
2: the color in the last 3 pictures is environmental and fire not the stone.

There is no way I can give a solid professional opinion without looking at the stone in person and a personal opinion is limited by the data available. I like what I see so far.
That does not mean im saying its good or bad as I dont have enough data.

MaisOuiMadame

Ideal_Rock
Premium