shape
carat
color
clarity

Grey Spinel buying advice

sbc86

Rough_Rock
Hi Guys,

I am a newbie on the forum. Looking to purchase my first grey spinel. These five spinels looked interesting to me. I am leaning towards the second one from the left. It also the most expensive of the group. It is priced more than twice per carat of the rest.

Do you guys think it is a good stone or should I keep looking?

, 8BA68392-4F56-4AAD-BCD9-248DE74912BF.png

595C42C3-440D-4699-8CE1-34C16622B8D3.png

62216CBC-2377-4E3E-90D2-71F81F0879B9.png

LilAlex

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Of course it depends on what you like. Real explosion of interest in gray spinel which used to be a "practice" stone for cutting, IIRC.

I like the tone of the one on the far right, although I would prefer a step cut like yours. Some of those have big windows, but hard to tell in the trough there.

Prices shot up so high and so fast that it was cheaper for me to get a gray sapphire than a lighter-toned spinel. I have not seen any in person or "in the wild."

PrecisionGem

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Of course it depends on what you like. Real explosion of interest in gray spinel which used to be a "practice" stone for cutting, IIRC.

I like the tone of the one on the far right, although I would prefer a step cut like yours. Some of those have big windows, but hard to tell in the trough there.

Prices shot up so high and so fast that it was cheaper for me to get a gray sapphire than a lighter-toned spinel. I have not seen any in person or "in the wild."

I have been wondering what the attraction to these is. 10 years ago rough dealers almost couldn't give this material away. They would try to convince me that they are really purple or slight blue anything but gray!

sbc86

Rough_Rock
Probably a minor Tulip mania going on with the grey spinels. Have been curious about it, so was thinking of taking the plunge.

MjK1

Shiny_Rock