shape
carat
color
clarity

got cheated in South Africa?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

paperclip

Rough_Rock
Hello all,

This is my first time here and could use some help regarding this matter.

Recently my parents bought a loose diamond from Johannesburg South Africa while on a tour but the price tag is pretty hefty for a low graded diamond(i think). Did some internet research and nothing seems to explain why it could be so expensive. Was just wondering if anyone here could shed some light on the matter.

1.03 carat Round brilliant
Ideal cut
VS2
colour : L
all the other properties indicate as VERY GOOD
certified by DIA (couldnt find this certification lab on the internet so wondering if it''s defunct)

Price was 50,000ish ZAR which is about USD6k+

Would be grateful if anyone could help out. thanks!

yssie

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
40.gif

that''s definitely at least 2,000 more than it should be..

paperclip

Rough_Rock
Ouch..i sort of expected that. I reckon it''ll be around USD 3kish to 4k?

Anyone heard of DIA? are they a reputable South African diamond certification lab? Is this diamond considered very low in quality then?

Thks and appreciate the replies :)

Kaleigh

Super_Ideal_Rock
Never heard of DIA. You have to be an informed consumer to buy in a market like SA. You can''t go there, and buy blindly. Not saying they did, but at least they should have had the stone independently appriased... ETC....... My thing is you have to be an informed consumer in any market. I am guessing since it was SA, they thought all would be fine or perhaps let their guard down??? Big mistake.

yssie

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
An L colour can be beautiful, like any other colour, if the cut is good. Can you take it to one of the PS appraisers - or even a local vendor - and find out more about it's cut (the numbers)? There's always the possibility of a recut.

paperclip

Rough_Rock