shape
carat
color
clarity

GIA Ideal vs. H & A

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

kooch1221

Rough_Rock
Im a newbie looking for a enagagement ring and have been researching quite a bit over the last couple of days. I found some really good information on this board, mainly that the qulaity of the cut seems to be the key element in a diamonds appearance. What I want to know is, is someone like me (lay person) going to be able to tell the difference between an H & A diamond (ags 0) vs a GIA ideal diamond? Alot of the GIA ideals seem to be signifigantly cheaper that there AGS counterparts and would rather save the extra money for a larger or better color stone if I couldnt readilt tell a difference. Thanks in advance!

oldminer

Ideal_Rock
Trade
GIA does not offer "ideal" in any grading they perform. Therefore be suspicious of any GIA diamond that is touted as "ideal" and then only provides the limited information from a GIA-GTL grading report. Without the crown and pavilion measurements, one cannot asses if the diamond meets "ideal" standards or only has a couple components within the ideal range. We see many of both types all of which are hyped as "ideal cut" when not all of them are.

Even some AGS 0 diamonds are not great examples of cutting and light return. Some are overly deep and really don't perform so wonderfully. They are not poorly cut, but just not super examples of what is best called "ideal" in the fullest sense. There are no true rules in all of this, so no one is breaking the law. Stretching the truth is not such a big deal unless its your money being spent badly.

Most AGS 0 diamonds will display some sort of H&A effect. You have to be a very skilled judge to know a good H&A effect from a fair one. They are not all the same as sellers might wish you'd believe.