shape
carat
color
clarity

Gemselect Reputation? Should I buy?

CheshireCat

Rough_Rock
I was browsing some rubies online and found a 3.24 carat listed for only around $25. I was shocked that a ruby would be priced so low? I never heard of anything like that before! Has anyone bought from Gemselect? Would gemstones on their site be a safe buy? Sorry if I sound naiive... I am new to this so I am still trying to figure out what makes a stone more valuable less valuable and what would be classified as a good buy, bad buy etc and I'm just shocked to see a stones on that site for much lower prices.

airplay355

Shiny_Rock
If it's natural ruby it's most likely highly treated for that price. Highly treated stones are considered less valuable. Here's something about ruby treatments. If I've gotten any of this wrong, hopefully a senior member will chime in and set me straight! :mrgreen:

http://reviews.ebay.com/Heated-Treated-quot-Lead-Glass-Filling-quot-Ruby-Treatments?ugid=10000000007316219

Treatments and enhancements
Improving the quality of gemstones by treating them is common practice. Some treatments are used in almost all cases and are therefore considered "acceptable". During the late 1990's, a large supply of low-cost materials caused a sudden surge in supply of heat-treated rubies, leading to a downward pressure on ruby prices.

Improvements used include color alteration, improving transparency by dissolving rutile inclusions, healing of fractures (cracks) or even completely filling them.