shape
carat
color
clarity

Gem microscope, suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

ger100

Shiny_Rock
I am a newbie, and am getting stuck on several gems. I''ve got some basic tools, but sometimes they conflict. For example, 2 pretty pale pink stones say sapphire by SG, RI, nice reaction under UV, but they are mono-color on dichroscope. I''m suspecting diffusion treated (am I right?). I believe that the way to tell this is under a microscope (am I right?).

What is a reasonable microscope for someone like me? what do I need, like, 2 light sources, dark field, etc.? I have not had my hands on a microscope in 30 years! What should I look for? Price cannot be outrageous.
23.gif

ALSO, what is the name of a good BOOK to go with the microscope findings?
33.gif

Thanks
Ger

mogok

Shiny_Rock
Hello,
Surface diffusion for a pink sapphire? That would be surprising as to my knowledge there is no "surface diffusion" for pink sapphires or rubies. Most of the time if such thing happen, it is "synthetic overgrowth" but not "surface diffusion".
Using the dichroscope if the stones are light in color the dichoism is possibly too weak to be noticed, also keep in mind that in sapphire the dischoism will change with the direction meaning that in some direction you will not see any dichroism.
Regarding inclusions, I all the time advise to people willing to get some knowledge the books I used myself when I was studying gemology: "The photoatlas of Inclusions in gemstones" by Dr E.Gubelin and John Koivula.
They are excellent reference books to use near a microscope.

All the best and enjoy,

Barbara

Rough_Rock
Hi Ger,

Vincent is so right when he points out that pale stones in pleochroic species may show the effect so weakly that a dichroscope cannot help you.