shape
carat
color
clarity

Flourescence in a D Color?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

plippens

Rough_Rock
Anybody have any comments on the pros and cons of Medium Blue Flourescence in a D color stone. I asked if the diamond had a blue tint in the sunlight and was told that it is only blue under a blacklight.

D is as white as you go, so it can''t face up any whiter, right?

Your thoughts?

Thanks

sciencegeek

Shiny_Rock
I have an E with medium blue fluorescence, and I thought maybe once it glowed a little lavender-blue in very strong direct sunlight, but it wasn't overwhelming. Can't wait till it's not cloudy and I can take it outside to play again
1.gif
1.gif

As for black lights, I work in a lab so I put a handheld UV lamp over it and nothing really happened with shortwave UV, but it glowed gorgeously blue under longwave. But I'm a self-professed nerd and I think fluorescence is a really cool phenomenon and very desirable in a diamond.

So to sum up, I think it's a matter of preference rather than an objectively good or bad quality. People will probably caution you about strong blue fluorescence, that it may make the diamond appear oily or milky but I think that this is actually quite rare among fluorescent diamonds.

Yes, D is as white as it gets. D,E,F are the colorless grades. See the tutorial if you want to learn more about color.

diamondlil

Ideal_Rock
I have an E colored diamond with medium blue flourescence. I actually like the "plugged-in" look that flourescence makes, and I have never noticed any negative effect. I recently compared my E with flourescence to a D without, and my E looked more crisp and slightly whiter face up. I saw no difference face down.

DiamondLil

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Expect a super cold white, especially in strong sunlight, and a whiff more of blue in the light flash of this diamond. And yes, this would look "whiter" than D - it is possible.