carat
color
clarity

Fixing a chipped diamond - Before and After Pictures

YoungPapa

Shiny_Rock
Trade
Hi Guys,

With all the stories of chipped diamonds (accompanied by an equal amount of confusion and anxiety), I thought it might be helpful to share a recent experience we had with one of our customers.

This particular customer purchased a GIA 1.01ct I-VS1 princess set into a classic platinum solitaire. Here is what the ring looked like right before we put it in the Fedex box.

JA57579-New.jpg

YoungPapa

Shiny_Rock
Trade
Here is what it looked like when we got it back a couple of months later. I've been doing this for 13 years and this is the worst chip I've seen. Most chips we find are 1/10th this size.

JA57579-Chipped.jpg

YoungPapa

Shiny_Rock
Trade
And here is the stone after recutting. We lost five points and a bit of diameter, so now the stone weighs 0.96ct. Cost to the customer for the recut was $75.

My point is simple. While chips sound terrible, they can often be repaired inexpensively and with little loss to the weight of the diamond.

Hope this helps.

JA57579-After.jpg

dontaskme

Rough_Rock
That is amazing, I never would have thought you could recut a diamond to fix a flaw with such little loss to weight. I bet the customer was thrilled after that. I would be beside myself if I chipped a diamond that badly :O. Did she say how she did it ?

AprilBaby

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Nice job and minimal loss! I bet she thought it was a goner!

slg47

Ideal_Rock
Hi Jim-thanks for sharing this. The diamond looks great! I am also really surprised that a chip of that magnitude could have been fixed with such a minimal loss of weight.

tyty333

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
OMG...thats night and day! I would have never thought possible. Thanks for sharing!

YoungPapa

Shiny_Rock
Trade