shape
carat
color
clarity

FI still refers to me as his GF...

slg47

Ideal_Rock
Is this weird? FI was recounting a story and he said "my GF blah blah blah"...he claims he doesn't like the word FI. Can't he just use my name, or something if he wants to avoid FI? Anyone else have this problem (or maybe it's a non-problem, but it sounded weird to me to still be his GF...)

calibali

Brilliant_Rock
I'm the same as your FI - when speaking to someone I always call my FI "boyfriend." I think fiance sounds weird, plus I've been calling him boyfriend for almost 7 years and it's a tough habit to break. I don't know if FI has ever referred to me as his fiancee, either.

I think for us, being engaged hasn't changed anything so it's hard to use a different label when nothing feels different. Doesn't bother me in the slightest, but if it's important to you, maybe ask him to make more of an effort to use fiancee?

slg47

Ideal_Rock
It just took me by surprise to hear him say that, I guess?

sillyberry

Brilliant_Rock
I vary between calling him my boyfriend and my fiancé. Fiancé sounds kind of silly to my ear, so I generally only call him that if I'm (1) joking around in an exaggerated manner or (2) really would like the person to know I'm engaged.

I have no idea how he refers to me (he doesn't do it often in my presence). As long as it isn't "friend," I think I'm okay with it. :lol:

NewEnglandLady

Ideal_Rock
calibali said:
I'm the same as your FI - when speaking to someone I always call my FI "boyfriend." I think fiance sounds weird, plus I've been calling him boyfriend for almost 7 years and it's a tough habit to break. I don't know if FI has ever referred to me as his fiancee, either.

I think for us, being engaged hasn't changed anything so it's hard to use a different label when nothing feels different. Doesn't bother me in the slightest, but if it's important to you, maybe ask him to make more of an effort to use fiancee?