shape
carat
color
clarity

Eye Clean and Clarity Grading.

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

FB.

Brilliant_Rock
There is much talk of eye cleanliness and clarity grading, mainly centred around SI2 stones.
There's also the recent article of eye clean definitions kindly provided by some of the people associated with Pricescope - > link is here if you haven't read it <

Would anyone be so bold as to make an approximation of the percentage of round diamonds around the key 0.5ct, 1ct and 2ct levels, of various clarity grades, with GIA-equivalent certification, that are eye clean at about 10-12 inches with 20/20 vision, when viewed from normal viewing angles in normal lighting conditions.

Such information - even if only approximate, or from "gut feeling" - would benefit many of the "eye-clean/lower clarity" hunters when weighing-up how likely their chances of being eye clean.

While I'm not a diamond expert - merely an enthusiast - I'll stick my neck out and give my best estimation from what I've seen and been told. I would be delighted to be corrected by more experienced experts and look forward to some constructive criticism.
9.gif

0.5ct
FL-VS1: 99-100% eye clean.
VS2: 99% eye clean.
SI1: 90% eye clean.
SI2: 60% eye clean.

1.0ct
FL-VS1: 99-100% eye clean.
VS2: 95% eye clean.
SI1: 80% eye clean.
SI2: 40% eye clean.

2.0ct:
FL-VVS2: 99-100% eye clean.
VS1: 95% eye clean.
VS2: 90% eye clean.
SI1: 60% eye clean.
SI2: 20% eye clean.

For the record, I'm mainly a VS-clarity hunter - playing it safe for eye clean, while having sufficiently large and/or numerous inclusions to use a loupe to verify that the diamond is genuine.

Allison D.

Ideal_Rock
FB, Paul Slegers mentioned in an earlier thread that the percentages you quoted in that thread seemed low, and the ones you're listing in this thread now are lower still.
33.gif

Where are you sourcing this data?

FB.

Brilliant_Rock