shape
carat
color
clarity

exercise and working in retail

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

golden

Shiny_Rock
hey!! how are you? I work in retail and I am on my feet 8 hours a day either standing or walking around. Obviously I am not walking to get my heart rate going, but I don''t even want to think of working out when I get home or even before I go to work because I am on my feet for so many hours and they hurt enough as it is! but of course I should be exercisng for my heart and health. Do you think I am burning enough calories to be losing weight/losing inches along with healthy eating? I am going to wear my pedometer tomorrow and see how many steps I take at work.
Thank you!

chiapet

Brilliant_Rock
The fitness people always recommend at least 30 minutes of activity at least 3 days a week so I imagine that you''re taking enough steps because you must be walking around at work. Did you try the pedometer? Maybe you can squeeze in some time in the gym on the weekends.

cammy85

Shiny_Rock
I always thought it was 30 minutes of moderate intensity activity, like speedwalking - at a minimum. The overall benefit is when you increase your heart rate while working out. I''m not an expert by any means, but from what I know, walking and being on your feet at work are definitely burning calories and certainly won''t hurt your chances of seeing results, the benefits to your heart and lungs from moderate intensity activities won''t be there. That''s why cardio is important, and getting your heart rate elevated.

golden

Shiny_Rock
I have been sick, but still working, but will put my pedometer on when I go back to work tomorrow!

AmberGretchen

Ideal_Rock
Could you try something where you''re not on your feet for exercise, like biking or swimming? I feel your pain - I''m in a lab, so many days I''m on my feet most of the day.