shape
carat
color
clarity

Engagement ring shopping, best bang for buck?

QQuire

Rough_Rock
Hello all,
I am new to this world and I am looking for any and all advice I can get. The time has come for me to get my knee dirty and pop the question. She has told me she wants oval or pear shaped with diamonds on the bands and thats pretty much the extent of it. I saw this one and it looks nice but I honestly don't even know what I am really looking at or paying for. https://www.pricescope.com/diamonds/pear/1-0000-carat-d-color-vvs2-clarity-21764835
I also think it looks pretty small on the sample image with the hand on the site.

How do I get the most bang for my buck? My budget is around 6k.

Any help is much appreciated! Thank you!

tyty333

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
If you're looking for best bang for your buck then I would drop color and clarity (down to G+ and VS level). Of course, with a fancy
cut like Pears and Ovals top priority is to find a stone with a beautiful cut.

What is her finger size?

That stone you posted looks like it could be promising. It does have a shallow depth so It faces up a little bigger IMO. You're
worried about it looking too small on her finger? I'm not sure I like the outside shape of the stone compared to others.

QQuire

Rough_Rock
If you're looking for best bang for your buck then I would drop color and clarity (down to G+ and VS level). Of course, with a fancy
cut like Pears and Ovals top priority is to find a stone with a beautiful cut.

What is her finger size?

That stone you posted looks like it could be promising. It does have a shallow depth so It faces up a little bigger IMO. You're
worried about it looking too small on her finger? I'm not sure I like the outside shape of the stone compared to others.

Thank you for the response! How does one know which cut is good or not? Or as long as it is excellent cut that should do it?
She is a sz 5.
What is an ideal depth in your opinion?
Yes I am worried about it looking too small.