shape
carat
color
clarity

Driving myself nuts...

Brad208

Rough_Rock
Hey all,

Been studying so much and I still feel like I'm no closer to finding the perfect stone. These are the criteria I've been using:

Color: D-F
Depth: 60-70
Excellent polish and symmetry
Clarity: VVS2 and up
Ratio: 1.45-1.6
Table: 60-70, but lower than depth
Girdle: very thin to slightly thick

I found one recently with the below info from GIA and I'm wondering if I can finally pull the trigger on it? At around 8K, is there any reason I shouldn't buy this diamond?

Thank you!
Brad Screenshot_20191221-224149_Gmail.jpg

Snowdrop13

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Do you have any photos or a video? I’m no expert on emerald cuts but I do know you can’t tell everything just from the certificate.

headlight

Ideal_Rock
You need to be attracted to the shape. Avoid pavilion bulge. If cut corners, make sure they are similar in length. High clarity important for emerald cuts but IF extremely overkill by car unless you just want that because it is IF. I definitely agree with your high color choice as color is more visible in ECs. D is not necessary unless you want to know you have a D... E would be fine.

Brad208

Rough_Rock
Thank you both for the prompt replies. I do like the shape (as does she). Should I be asking for that other thing? The ASET or something? That's the only thing I'm completely unfamiliar with. Here are some pictures as well. 20191222_082408.jpg 20191222_082423.jpg 20191222_082212.jpg 20191222_082133.jpg 20191222_082111.jpg 20191222_082148.jpg

Reactions: AV_

tyty333

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Yes, ask for an ASET image. Put the stone on hold and provide the link so we can see the stone moving.

Is $8k your budget? I'll look around some.

Edit

That stone you are looking at is around $6k. I thought $8k sounded a little high. It looks like a nice stone.

Hmmm...didnt find much other JA. Only this one. Looks like it has 2 steps lighting up at the same time

Last edited:

Brad208

Rough_Rock