shape
carat
color
clarity

Dip or not ?

chamois

Brilliant_Rock
I have an inherited diamond boat shaped, cluster ring. Estimated to be from the 1850’s. The mounting is in silver and tarnishes quickly. Can you/would you have it dipped (plated)?

Daisys and Diamonds

Super_Ideal_Rock
may be see a picture and a little back story please
im always interested in inherited pieces

im no expert but im tempted to say do what ever you have to, to make the piece the most wearable

A jewler who's blog i follow, Calla Gold is always saying wear it don't warehouse it

Also the best way to stop silver from tarnishing is to wear it, or is your piece way to delicate to be worn often ?

distracts

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I have an inherited diamond boat shaped, cluster ring. Estimated to be from the 1850’s. The mounting is in silver and tarnishes quickly. Can you/would you have it dipped (plated)?

I also would like to see pictures - a lot of jewelry from the period with silver and diamonds is worn tarnished/darkened, so it is probable that it is just supposed to be the style. I don't know if that helps you not mind. If you still mind though then yes, go for it. Jewelry is meant to be worn.

chamois

Brilliant_Rock
88A35337-6545-45B7-B947-CF81FCDBA5D7.jpeg

Thanks for your replies.

Here it is, not good at taking pics of diamonds, it is so hard to capture what I see with my eyes. This ring was my Great Great Grandmother’s ring, my Great Aunt then inherited it. Subsequently the ring was then inherited by my Mum from her Aunt, I now have it.

The band is YG.

PreRaphaelite

Ideal_Rock
Please don't dip it! It would diminish the value of this antique.
Have you had it tested or appraised? I can't tell from the photos if it is paste or diamond or topaz or...
At any rate, it is lovely.
How about some more pics, from all angles?

Bron357

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Well “shut the door”!
what a stunner of a ring.