shape
carat
color
clarity

Diamond vendor and appraiser recommendations: Los Angeles

Ellejae1

Rough_Rock
Hello diamond lovers,
I am just starting my research towards the diamond upgrade of my dreams. I currently own a 1.81 round and want to upgrade to a 2.5 round. I'm fairly new to LA and want to get my current diamond appraised for resale or trade in. I see this guy has good reviews on Yelp http://www.certifiedjewelryappraiser.com/ Anyone been to him or can recommend someone?
Also would love to know of some jewelry vendors that have large selections of rounds that do trades. I'm thinking of sticking with the wholesale or downtown LA jewelry mart instead of a brick and mortar store.
Thanks so much!

RockyRacoon

Brilliant_Rock
Re: Diamond vendor and appraiser recommendations: Los Angele

I will let someone else chime in with answers about Appraisers, as I do not have any experience there.

In LA, we have a few good options. Just going to the Jewelry District is not the best idea, as there are many folks running less-than-reputable businesses in the area. It's worthwhile to visit this area, if you know the specific vendors you are visiting. 'Wholesale' vendors are not open to the public, so I don't think it's worth pursuing that angle.

A few vendors worth mentioning, who may be able to assist you:

Jewels by Erica Grace ( www.jewelsbyericagrace.com )
Singlestone ( www.singlestone.com )
Victor Canera ( www.victorcanera.com )

They may be able to assist both with the selling / trading / consigning of your current stone, and providing you with an upgrade.

I've lived in LA for over 30 years, and I would suggest pursuing these vendors first.

Ellejae1

Rough_Rock

Thank you RockyRaccoon for getting back to me so fast!
I have heard of these three diamond vendors you mentioned but don't you think their mark-up is a bit higher due to their popularity?
Are they all located in the LA jewelry district or do they have brick and mortar stores?

thanks!

Ellejae1

Rough_Rock