shape
carat
color
clarity

Crushed Ice Cushions...BAD???

FuturePsyD

Shiny_Rock
Hi All,

I was wondering if someone could kindly tell me why Cushions with the crushed ice appearance seem to be "looked down upon" amongst the various types of cushions out there? (based on many posts i've read on PS).

I'm new to PS, is there someplace I can go to look at the different types and compare? I really appreciate any help.

Thanks!!! :))

Dreamer_D

Super_Ideal_Rock
Some people do like that look and more power too them.

In general, though, when a diamond has that look it means the light is not being sent back to the eye and therefore the diamond is not going to be as bright, scintillating, contrasty etc as it could be. It is a visual sign of poor cut. As I said, though, some do like that look and as long as someone has made a comparison and opted that they indeed prefer that appearance over others, more power to them.

I think Good Olds Gold has lots of cushion videos. Try their videos link and see what you find.

petrock<3

Brilliant_Rock
I don't know if it is just a preference thing, or if it means the cut is bad. :confused: I have wondered this too from reading posts on PS. I do know, however, that I LOVE the crushed ice look and that is why I like radiants. :love:

When we were ring shopping, I didn't know what cut I liked. The salesperson showed me examples of each. When I saw the radiant, I said ooooo it looks like crushed ice! I thought it was so amazing, and liked it so much better than defined facets. I don't know why but I found it mesmerizing.

Rockdiamond

Ideal_Rock
Trade
FuturePsyD-