shape
carat
color
clarity

Coloured Stone Grading

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I am new to coloured stones and need some explaination/clarification on the following:

1. Are there any standards when it comes to coloured stones? There does not seem to be any and most are sold without certification. This makes it very hard for a consumer to purchase quality gemstones. Do you think this will change in the near future?

2. I''ve heard a little about the A/AA/AAA/AAA+ grading. How are these graded? What is it based on? For example, what is the difference between AA and AAA? Why are some stones graded and others aren''t? I''ve also seen some GIA grading for gemstones but it seems very complicated to me.

katbadness

Shiny_Rock
----------------
On 7/26/2004 2:21:31 PM chrono wrote:

I am new to coloured stones and need some explaination/clarification on the following:

1. Are there any standards when it comes to coloured stones? There does not seem to be any and most are sold without certification. This makes it very hard for a consumer to purchase quality gemstones. Do you think this will change in the near future?

2. I've heard a little about the A/AA/AAA/AAA+ grading. How are these graded? What is it based on? For example, what is the difference between AA and AAA? Why are some stones graded and others aren't? I've also seen some GIA grading for gemstones but it seems very complicated to me.

----------------

As far as I know, there is no widely accepted standard for colored stones. I believe GIA has color grading, as does AGL, but I am not certain what their acceptance is.

Here's an old thread with colored gem lab grading discussions.

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium