shape
carat
color
clarity

China thread spin-off - NON bone china?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

rockzilla

Brilliant_Rock
So, I was at crate and barrel the other day, picking up a gift for my friend, and stumbled into the china section. I was looking around and saw a really lovely set (posted below). As I was looking at it, I realized the bottom of it said "fine bone china."

Now, not being an expert, I said to my mom, "That doesn''t actually mean its made out of bone, right?" Also not being an expert, my mom replied, "no, I don''t think so...I think that just means it is very delicate, like bones..." (huh?!)

Anyways, after I had gotten home, I decided to look it up...and it turns out that bone china IS MADE OUT OF BONE....ground up ash of ox bones, to be exact.

Since my fiance and I are vegetarians, we can''t very well be eating our tofu off of ground up bone pieces...ick...SO, my questions are as follows:

1. Anyone seen a similar pattern to this, NOT made of bone?

2. Is there a way we can be sure something isn''t bone china? Obviously "fine bone china" has the bone in it...but do they sneak it into other china? If it just says "fine china" or "fine ____ china" does that mean no bone?

3. Is non-bone china automatically not as nice? I mean, is it all or nothing, or is there something that is just as nice but bone-free? Or should we just get some corelle plates from Marshalls?

Thanks!

RZ

http://www.crateandbarrel.com/family.aspx?c=20&f=1534

bonyplate.jpg

Pandora II

Ideal_Rock
The main reason for opting for bone china is that it is a lot less breakable than porcelain or earthernware and looks a lot more delicate.

You will also find more choice in ''fine china'' type patterns than you will with porcelain which tends to have more of an everyday feel.

I don''t know if you have them in the US, but I think Denby does a very nice white porcelain service.

sumbride

Ideal_Rock