shape
carat
color
clarity

Celebrating a milestone. Rolex or upgrade e-ring?

LovelyHearts

Shiny_Rock
Trade
Hi PSers! I wanted to ask for your expertise and advice, since you all are such saavy shoppers and many of you are so much more fashionable than I could ever imagine I'd be.

I have been on the hunt for the last 3 weeks for a present for myself to celebrate a personal milestone. I don't want to go too much into the milestone (no one lines a bragger), but I am really proud of myself. I landed a job at a great company with a targeted salary goal I set, a number I didn't think I'd reach until long after I graduated from college. I told myself that when I got to that range, I'd buy myself something nice... here I am ahead of schedule, why not celebrate now! The interview process took almost 3 months, but I landed the job in November. I'm really conservative so I wanted to give myself 6 months to adjust at the new job to really call it "my career". Well, I hit the 6 months in May, and have been thinking about what I should buy to celebrate!

After months of debating, I've narrowed it down to 2 things that I know I will appreciate and wear daily. I want to either upgrade my BGD solitaire or get a rolex. Again, I am really conservative and with having a family, don't want to spend TOO much money. I am a working mom of 2 girls (4 & 5 now) and have been going to school full time (graduating in May 2014). I'm looking at a budget of $5K. The e-ring is pretty sentimental to me though... although I can never say no to a bigger diamond.

Which would you choose? An upgrade to your e-ring from a .8 stone to whatever the extra budget will give me? Or a rolex?

If rolex, do you know what I can get for $5K?

Thank you in advance for your opinion!

peacechick

Brilliant_Rock
I'd say go for the watch. It's more of a symbol of career success IMO, and depending on where you work, you probably want a nice watch.