shape
carat
color
clarity

cavity in a diamond, is it Ok

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

diamonddee

Rough_Rock
I am looking for help from the experts. My husband and I are about to purchase a 3 stone diamond ring. It has 1.75 ct tw. The center stone is 1.01 ct. Set in platinum. The problem is that the center stone has a cavity close to where the progs are. The ring is appraised for $7,000 . We are purchasing it for $4,700 on sale. I am concerned about the cavity. I have never heard of this term before. I cant see any visible holes. It comes with a GIA cert. color-H, clarity- SI2. What do you think?

strmrdr

Super_Ideal_Rock
I'm not an expert but let me ask you something If the ring was really worth 7k why would they sell it to you for $4700?
Who did the appraisal? An independent appraiser or did they do it themselves? or their buddies down the block?
To be honest I haven’t been impressed by any 3 diamond ring that I have seen in a b&m they just seem to throw the worst diamonds in them and expect the customer to be wowed by the special lights and 3 diamonds and the tcw number.

diamonddee

Rough_Rock
This ring comes with the GIA certificate the appraisal on the certificate says $7145. We got the discount because we were bagaining, and the fact that it has a cavity. I did not finalize the deal because I wanted more information about the cavity.

Mara

Super_Ideal_Rock
GIA does not do appraisals......

Something's a little off. Pass on this 'great deal'.

strmrdr

Super_Ideal_Rock
Mara is correct GIA does not do appraisals.

The point I’m trying to get across is that an appraisal that is not done by someone working for you with the clear understanding that the number you want is either b&m or internet out the door price isn’t worth the paper it is printed on when it comes to deciding if the purchase price is fair.