shape
carat
color
clarity

Buying a diamond

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

PPD

Rough_Rock
Hey all,

This is my first post and I would like to say this forum has a wealth of information...thanks to all involved keeping the forum running.

My question is, I am looking at a 2.21 D SI1 stone dont know much about the cut...but what I do know is that the jeweler is a very good friend of the family and i would like to know pending on stone perfection in terms of its cut what would a stone like this vary in price. If this is too vague a question please ask me specifics and i''ll try to answer to the best of my ability as I am a complete amateur when it comes to stones.

Thanks all,

P

PPD

Rough_Rock
Oh and by the way the stone is GIA certified I''m gonna get a complete copy of all the measurement next time i pass by the jeweler.

Thanks again,
P

Lorelei

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Welcome
35.gif

Firstly cut is THE most important factor with diamond beauty - so never skimp on that. This is what makes a diamond magical, the fire, brilliance, scintillation etc. Don't go by labels pinned on diamonds by vendors such as Ideal, Excellent, Good etc - these don't often mean much. Read the tutorials about cut proportions for rounds to get to know what to look for.

Your best bet is to get a copy of the certificate and post the depth, table, crown and pavillion angles, girdle thickness so we can help further. Also who certed this diamond? GIA or AGA are the best labs. There is also the Holloway Cut Advisor tool above which can help with cut quality. Lastly, see if the jeweller has any info on the diamond such as a Sarin Report, Idealscope Image ( very useful) BrillianceScope etc. There is a tool called an Idealscope you can buy - see on the top of the page which is very useful that you can use to get an idea of how well a diamond is cut.