shape
carat
color
clarity

Buyer Beware - Chinese Manufacturing Company

Tate25

Rough_Rock
This is my first time posting but I wanted to share my experience with dealing with a Chinese company called Changxing Jewelry also trading as sister ebay stores ID: jewelryhoo2, jewelryhoo, changxingjewelry, leejewelry, jewelryhoo-custom-design, nicolejewelry2012.

I received a quote for $640 from Changxing Jewelry to manufacture a ring (from a photo I sent them and attached many times during the emails that went back and forth) using my gems (a tanzanite and two diamonds). It was a very simple design. A tanzanite with a diamond each side which I provided and a large shank width 12-15mm wide. I was told it would be 10grams of gold to make the ring but when I had agreed and posted my gems, they close to doubled the amount of gold and increased the labour to $940 USD. I was told that there was no way of knowing from a photo of a ring how much gold was involved. I spoke to a reputable Jeweller I'd worked with a few times in Australia and he said a good Jeweller should know the amount of gold within 20% (plus or minus). This was close to double the grams of gold and an increase of 32% in overall cost.

When asked to reduce the amount of gold by decreasing the width of the shank and revert to previous labour cost (no change had occurred in overall design so labour shouldn't have increased), they didn't want to do the job and said they'd return my gems. This was my Christmas present from my family and its too late now (4 Dec 2014) to get another jeweller to create the ring. I'm so disappointed!