shape
carat
color
clarity

boulder opal pendant

melda

Rough_Rock
i ordered the opal online and drew up a design with a local jeweler who did the silver bezel. the opal is 11 carats. i really like the stone; to me it looks like a magical hatching egg. i've never worked with a jeweler before - his works looks good to me, but i'd be interested in hearing other peoples' thoughts.

DSC02761.jpg

Treenbean

Brilliant_Rock
That's a cool stone! I like the hatching egg analogy. The bezeling looks decent, not perfect, but what is? Are you happy with it? I think it's pretty.

Arkteia

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I think the bezeling is nice and I like the idea of pairing a huge opal with a small pearl. I think it is an interesting pendant. I hope you'll post neck shots!

LD

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Is that a pearl or a silver bead???????

I agree that the bezelling is okay but it is uneven in places. The overall effect is very pretty though and I love matrix opals so I'd be a fan whether the bezelling was horrible or exceptional!

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
LD,
Looks like a silver bead to me too.

I like the uniqueness of the opal and the design sets it off well. Very magical, as you put it.

Kismet

Ideal_Rock
That opal is so pretty. It does look like a hatching egg! I think we need some neck shots.

Largosmom

Brilliant_Rock
I love the shape and colors in your opal pendant. I expect a tiny dragon to hatch out of it!

GemPendants

Rough_Rock
LovingDiamonds said:

I agree that the bezelling is okay but it is uneven in places. The overall effect is very pretty though and I love matrix opals so I'd be a fan whether the bezelling was horrible or exceptional!

Just to learn: I didn't seem to find any uneven place, where...? :confused:
How should "perfect" bezelling look like?

Gailey

Ideal_Rock
GemPendants said:
LovingDiamonds said:

Just to learn: I didn't seem to find any uneven place, where...? :confused:
How should "perfect" bezelling look like?