shape
carat
color
clarity

Best place to buy spinel?

ClaireH

Rough_Rock
I was wondering if anyone knew the best place to buy blue spinel? Ive been looking at jewelsapphire.com and some of the stones really take my fancy. The problem is I'm not a jewellery expert so I dont know if they are good quality stones or not, or if the site is reputable. I was looking at true blue or violet blue colour, 3 - 4 carats and antique cushion cut. I want a really beautiful stone so that I can have it set in a yellow gold ring with channel set baguette cut diamonds in the shoulders (its for my engagement ring :love: ). I just suffer from a wee bit of magpie syndrome :bigsmile: Thanks in advance!

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I have not had a lot of luck with that particular spinel outlet. Their photos look better than the real thing. I have had a lot of success with Odysseygem and Gemburionline, if you're not picky about precision cuts. Finding a good violet spinel is difficult. I would always ask the vendor if the stone has a lot of grey and/or is overly dark.

Liane

Brilliant_Rock
I'm not familiar with this vendor and can't say whether they're reputable or not, but what I'm seeing of their blue spinels on the front page is, honestly, not impressing me. On my monitor, most of the stones look very dark and/or gray. Many have pronounced bowties or show half-and-half patterning; the cutting generally doesn't strike me as very good.

For an engagement ring, I'd keep looking.

Pandora II

Ideal_Rock
ClaireH|1291409692|2786610 said: