shape
carat
color
clarity

Austin, TX

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Gypsy

Super_Ideal_Rock
Every year a good freind of mine and I visit each other. This year it's my turn to go down for a visit. Last time we were there we really didn't go anywhere really. Just kind of hung around their place and spent time together. Which was very lovely. But this time we were hoping to.... I don't know, see a little of Austin? She's a grad student at University of Texas (if that's the Longhorn school)... so nothing too expensive in terms of places to go and things to do please.

Would also appreciate a couple of resturant reccomendations. She's a vegitarian (her fiance is a steak and potatoes man)... so no place that has a menu that reads, " Meat, with a side of meat. Third meat option available." One 'nicer' restuarant would be nice though, as we will be celebrating my birthday.

I have a Zagat's subscription but... real people's experiences are always the best. 1886 Café, Gumbo's, Reed's Jazz & Supper Club, Eddie V's Edgewater Grille, São Paulo's, Castle Hill, Madam Mam's are what caught by eye from the Zagat site. Plus, there are always some great local places that Zagat misses as I well know.

Oh... and being a Pser.. if there is any blingy place I need to stop by at... please, feel free to let me know. (won't make it to WF in Houston, unfortunately).

diamondlove

Shiny_Rock
hi Gypsy,

I''m pretty familiar with Austin so hopefully I can be of some help to you. What type of activities do you enjoy doing? Austin is terrific for outdoorsy type of things such as boating and jet skiing out on Lake Travis -- esp. this time of the year. Also, being the capitol of Texas you could visit the actual Capitol or even the somewhat new Texas Bullock Museum.