shape
carat
color
clarity

*advice appreciated!* Imperial Jade setting for Men’s Ring

Great Auk

Rough_Rock
Hi everyone,
I’m a newbie here, but would very much appreciate any suggestions on how I should ask a jewelry designer to set this jade cabochon (see attached) into a men’s ring. The current setting the jade is in will be used for my lady and will have a black opal set into that one.

Have also attached the current thinking of a jeweler... a semi-bezel setting with a few diamonds.

What do you all think? Thanks very much for any advice. I am ok with modern or antique styles... all I can hope for is to have the setting display the jade to its fullest.

Cheers,
Chris

Last edited by a moderator:

LilAlex

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Perfect cab, bezel-set in a featureless high-kt yellow gold Gypsy-style ring. Or Pt, depending upon the tone. Maybe 1 - 2mm polished bezel and the rest of the ring matte-finished. Why detract from a great stone? If it's a mediocre stone, then distract away! I vote great stone + simple for a man's ring.

I'm US-based; YMMV.

OoohShiny

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Check out the Men's Bling thread in the Show Me The Bling section of the forum - there might be some good designs to inspire in there :)

gregchang35

Ideal_Rock
Perfect cab, bezel-set in a featureless high-kt yellow gold Gypsy-style ring. Or Pt, depending upon the tone. Maybe 1 - 2mm polished bezel and the rest of the ring matte-finished. Why detract from a great stone? If it's a mediocre stone, then distract away! I vote great stone + simple for a man's ring.

I'm US-based; YMMV.

I like this alot!
in fact, i have my dads jade ring in this exact style of setting. Its all highly polished 22kYG. It isnt the imperial jade that you have.....
I have made a thread about it. i will try and link it.
https://www.pricescope.com/communit...5-yrs-without-seeing-the-light-of-day.215564/

icy_jade

Ideal_Rock
15A2DDBA-525B-491F-9EE1-BA9C537B1B5A.jpeg 788DA476-0E38-46D0-A66C-786CA240E229.jpeg