shape
carat
color
clarity

Unheated Sapphire and Jeweler's Heat?

corundum_conundrum

Shiny_Rock
Premium
I just took an unheated sapphire ring to a local jeweler to have prongs re-tipped. He said that sapphires could withstand the heat of a jeweler's torch so it wouldn't need to be unmounted....

However, this is an unheated sapphire. Does that make a difference in terms of jeweler's heat? Should I have him unmount it? My googling has said that sapphires can withstand jeweler's heat, but I've not found anything about how that affects an unheated sapphire. Will the jeweler's torch turn it into a heated sapphire, or is the heat not high enough?

Thanks for any expert knowledge!

corundum_conundrum

Shiny_Rock
Premium
I'm not an expert, so hopefully others will chime in, but until then here is a link to a very good article on the subject:
https://www.ganoksin.com/article/hard-facts-sapphires-rubies/

Thanks, I saw that article too--and frankly a few more that were even more alarmist.

I had a tournamaline cracked by a local jeweler in Chicago and he had it recut to try to hide it. Ever since then, I've been pretty paranoid about local jewelers.

I think I'm going to cancel the order and send it off for repairs to someone with more expertise in Colored Stones.

Bron357

Ideal_Rock
Premium
My understanding is that the heat of the jewellers torch if butane isn’t hot enough or for long enough to turn an unheated sapphire into a heated sapphire. What is of more concern is inherent flaws in the stone that might expand due to heat. I know this is definitely an issue with Emeralds.
These days though the better jewellers are using lasers, that doesn’t pose the same risks or issues as the heat is just on the spot where they aim.
Though not all jewellers have a laser in the kit bag, so that’s why it’s better to go with a more experienced jeweller even if more expensive due to the more specialized equipment they have.