shape
carat
color
clarity

Thoughts on value of this Sapphire

MikeySwedish

Rough_Rock
Hi Everyone,

I'm looking at buying an orange sapphire. Its kind of a pale peachy color. 3.88 carat cushion cut. I want to be more confident in the value of this, thoughts?

brief.jpg

lovedogs

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Not sure about the value per say, but it looks like a nice piece and has a quality report. It's too light for my personal taste, but obviously that doesn't matter if you love the color. What is the asking price?

MikeySwedish

Rough_Rock
I do love the color and it looks like a nice stone. Im pretty new to this though and it seems there is quite a range on gem values, and Im not quite understanding the valuations.

The asking price for this is $11,000 USD

What do you think?

voce

Ideal_Rock
Sorry, this is in no way a pad if there is no pink, only peach/orange. The AGL brief would have said orangish pink or pinkish orange if it was a pad. If you love it and are willing to pay the price, that's fine, but I personally wouldn't pay so much for heated orange sapphire; it's not even unheated for the pale color and steep price.

Bron357

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I think it’s a pretty sapphire but it’s not pinkish to me, more yellow orange.
However, if the vendor has a easy return policy perhaps you should see it in person to see if it meets with your expectations.
Personally, I think the price is a bit too much, it’s heated and they are sort of pricing it as a “type of pad sapphire” when it really isn’t.

Bron357

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I agree but Im looking for more of a padparadscha color. The pale pinky peachy type.

I would think this is more comparable: https://www.africagems.com/sapphire-cushion-5-44-201810265.html
The Africa gems one is more pinkish with just a touch of peach. The you are looking at is the other way, much more orangish.