shape
carat
color
clarity

Thoughts on this ruby from Thai Native Gems?

Beacon75

Rough_Rock
I have really appreciated this forum and the time spent by members to educate us all. I used it years ago to purchase my wife's engagement ring, and we have since been blessed with a July baby. My wife would like a piece with his birthstone so I am looking to have a small pendant made. I have zero experience with rubies.

I'd like member's opinion of this 2 carat stone with consideration of its price etc. GRS doesn't consider it their pigeon's blood standard, which I understand, and do see a lot of pink tone to my eye (along with the ambiguity and over-use of the P'sB terminology in marketing). I'm not as clear on using pictures alone to identifying excessive extinction in a cut, windowing/too shallow a stone etc. I'd full stop at visible inclusions but they seem much more tolerated in a ruby vs. diamond as I realize color is the first driver. I prefer higher transparency but worry the color saturation seemed lacking in the video. Finally, the lopsided cutlet location seems obvious to me but again I don't know if that's such a big deal with a ruby. And of course we are talking about a sub $5k ask.

All insights, opinions, suggestions welcomed! Sorry I couldn't figure out how to paste individual pictures from the dealer's site.

http://www.thainativegems.com/produ...-oval-cut-unheated-untreated-mozambique-ruby/

Video:

Attachments

• IMG_0527.PNG
    IMG_0527.PNG
    1.1 MB · Views: 56

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I found the pictures a little difficult to interpret but I am quite sure there is a window, only that I don't know how major or minor it might be. The shape is also a roval so it'll need a custom setting. Colour looks quite nice, even if it isn't a pure or saturated red. Stone looks transparent and clean enough to me and there is the reassurance of the GRS lab memo to prove that it is untreated.