shape
carat
color
clarity

Stone or ring first?

SouthernGent

Shiny_Rock
I'm a newbie to gemstones and am looking to get a men's ring made with either a blue zircon or blue topaz stone in it. My wishes are for the ring to be a fairly unobtrusive "signet style" with the stone sitting transversely (east-west).
What I need to know is do I search for a stone that I like first and then take it to a jeweler in hopes that they can find a setting that I like and will accommodate the stone? Or do I need to find a suitable setting first and then a stone to fit it?
I have attached a picture (hopefully) of a couple of rings that are similar to what I am looking to design.
Any feedback and guidance is greatly appreciated.
il_570xN_1267019116_jc72.jpg thumbnail.jpg

Attachments

• il_570xN_1701309031_geq8.jpg
    il_570xN_1701309031_geq8.jpg
    23.8 KB · Views: 20

qubitasaurus

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
You need to locate the stone first, then the setting. It is much easier to commision a setting to be tailored to your stone's measurements than it is to cut the stone to fit the existing setting.

Just a point of consideration -- both topaz and zircon will chip and abrade moderately easily. Do you plan to be gentle on this ring?

SouthernGent

Shiny_Rock
Just a point of consideration -- both topaz and zircon will chip and abrade moderately easily. Do you plan to be gentle on this ring?
Uh oh - no, actually I don't plan to be particularly gentle as I hope to wear it pretty much every day and only remove it when I'm doing construction work or mechanic work. Are there other vibrant blue stones that I should consider?
And thanks for your response and guidance.

Reactions: AV_

AV_

Ideal_Rock
What you have in mind is very much my style. I have worn such a ring with a cabochon for a long time 24/7 until both gold and sapphire got a distinct patina - good fun up to a point... Then, the ring could be polished without removing the stone. (ring since lost).