shape
carat
color
clarity

Starting the Quest for a White Sapphire Engagement Ring

M@!

Rough_Rock
As the title states, I am starting a quest for a White Sapphire Engagement Ring. Well white for now, I have to find out if she'd be interested in any other colors. Looking for a twist shank with a halo. I'm going to start digging through the preferred vendors, but if there are specifics vendors that you could point me too that would be great. $1k ish range, is that enough? She wants sparkly, but doesn't need a high dollar ring.

I was thinking something like this, but I don't see this vendor on the preferred list. http://etsy.me/2mMBnLO

Thanks in advance!
Matt

shinyrocks

Shiny_Rock
Premium
That looks like a very pretty ring. I have no experience with the particular Etsy seller, so hopefully others will chime in. White sapphires aren't super-expensive, so I would think $1K for a nice stone should be a good budget to work with. The particular one in this ring, if truly natural, appears to be very clean and very well-cut.

Niel

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
She’s asked for a white sapphire? I just want to make sure she isn’t expecting a diamond.

GliderPoss

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I agree - first be absolutely sure she isn't expecting a diamond as a white sapphire will never look the same - different performance! :naughty:

If she is 100% happy with a clear gemstone and is gentle on her rings, you could also look at these stones for white/colourless options for a $1K budget:
  • spinel
  • chyroberyl
  • phenakite
  • goshenite
  • danburite

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Yes, sapphire & diamond are very different animals ... The letter does almostª any colour MUCH better than the first, which does sparkle instead.