shape
carat
color
clarity

Seeking feedback on shallower oval

SkyHigh

Rough_Rock
Hello everyone. I'm new here and looking for some unbiased feedback on an oval for a solitaire engagement ring. The diamond is shallower than typically recommended, but I'm not experienced enough to determine whether leakage is a problem.

Link to video: Video on Adiamor
Video in person:

Specs:
1.7 caret E VS2
Table: 57%
Depth: 55.1%
Polish: Excellent
Symmetry: Very Good
Fluor: Medium Blue
10.14 x 6.78 x 3.73

Do you think I'm better off going with something smaller with more depth, or does this look good?

1870854.jpg IMG_20191207_145621078.jpg IMG_20191207_145745326.jpg IMG_20191207_150323663.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_20191207_145619915.jpg
    IMG_20191207_145619915.jpg
    73.2 KB · Views: 29
Last edited:

monipod

Brilliant_Rock
She's certainly 'spready' for 1.7 carat! I can't tell from the video if there's enough sparkle going on. I am not one to demand a perfect cut but the stone needs to be visibly sparkly. Have you seen it in person? If there's enough bling factor for you and the price is really good, then why not? But otherwise it wouldn't to look at other options perhaps.

OoohShiny

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I am no expert :) but it looks like it is 'windowing' (going see-through) at certain angles - you can see it in the video between 0 and 2 seconds, and in the second picture above (the first one after the adiamor image) there is a light area in the top half, which seems to be showing the napkin behind it.

Ovals can be hard to shop for! Do you have a budget you are working to?

tyty333

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I saw what @OoohShiny is seeing.

For fancy cuts, I usually don't pay a lot of attention to the numbers so a shallower stone would not bother me as
long as it didn't suffer from being shallow.

The adimor video it looks like a pretty typical oval. Not perfect light return but pretty typical.