shape
carat
color
clarity

Re cutting a diamond

JoelJewel

Rough_Rock
Hey everyone! Newbie here.

I had a question, lets say i'd have a 100ct diamond, could this be cut in to lets say 10x10ct diamonds? If so, how is the best way to approach this?

Thanks in advance:saint:

lovedogs

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
No, definitely not. From what I know, lots of ct weight lost in cutting nice stones. Obviously I'm not a stone cutter, so I don't know details. But maybe @Wink or @Texas Leaguer can speak to the average yrild of a rough stone.

Paul-Antwerp

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Hi Joel,

I love such purely theoretical questions. They force me to think outside of the box, and in the end, the answer can still be enlightening in the practical world.

So, let us assume you having a 100 ct diamond. Rough or polished, even shape, it does not matter. After all, also all polished diamonds can be considered as rough, as there always is room to improve them.

For some reason, you wish to divide them into 10 pieces of equal weight. This could be for instance a very expensive art project? Is that technically possible? Yes. There would be a little weight loss in the laser separating the pieces, but that is it.

However, the remaining pieces will have very weird shapes. And value wise, we need to consider each remaining stone again as a rough diamond and its value is based upon the most valuable polished diamond can come out. Value wise, this is an utter nightmare.

Then again, as an art project, demonstrating the ease of destructing natural value, it might become an enormous success.

Live long,

JoelJewel

Rough_Rock
Hey, very surprised with all the answers! Thanks for everyone's input, already greatly in love with this forum :)

So the thing is, i know someone who is in posession of a 110ct diamond, he'd like to sell it but finding correct clients for a diamond of this size is a very hard task. That's when he thought of cutting it up in to more smaller pieces.