shape
carat
color
clarity

Is This Cushion a Winner?

vintageloves

Shiny_Rock
I did something I've never done before and put a diamond on hold. This looks like a good cushion to me, but what do I know? The ultimate goal is to have a 3 stone with half moons, but that might be years off in the future. I plan to have it shipped to me in a simple solitaire setting so at least I can wear it in the meanwhile (but am open to suggestions). Our budget is 25K all in (PA takes 6%) for the center stone/setting.

https://www.bluenile.com/build-your-own-ring/diamond-details/LD10917181

So how do you think I did? I was hoping for a cushion with nice faceting but not H&A. If it's a bad stone, feel free to make alternate suggestions.

mrs-b

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I like it. In general, I prefer cushions a bit puffier, but this is a nice, white, clean stone, with no visible 'mush' and nicely defined facets. I suspect the ASET will be above average, but you really can't tell till you get the image. BN doesn't do ASETs, though, so if you're happy to purchase without one, then you'll probably be happy with this stone. Seeing it in person should clarify for you whether or not you're happy with the light performance.

Here are a few I prefer...

https://www.bluenile.com/diamond-de...DiamondDetails&action=newTab&catalogView=true

https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/cushion-cut/2.41-carat-f-color-si1-clarity-sku-5902830

https://www.bluenile.com/diamond-de...DiamondDetails&action=newTab&catalogView=true

https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/cushion-cut/2.51-carat-d-color-vs2-clarity-sku-5589892

My pick is the 2.51ct D VS2 at the bottom. What a STUNNING stone! Bigger, obviously, whiter, puffier, with a smaller, higher table - and those facets move beautifully as you rotate the stone!